The governors are the strategic leaders of our school and have a vital role to play in making sure every child gets the best possible education.  The purpose of the governing body is to conduct the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement at the school.


The school’s governing body consists of seven co-opted governors, three elected parent governors, one elected staff governor and one local authority governor.  The headteacher is also a governor.


The school is supported directly by the department for education.


You can contact the governors via the clerk to the governors: Mrs Christine Freeland, c/o Netherhall School, Telephone: 01900 813434

Email: c.freeland@netherhall.cumbria.sch.uk


David Tromans


David trained at Carnegie College in Leeds and began his career at Knottingley High School.


Mark Nealy

Co-opted Governor

Mark initially served an apprenticeship as a FitterTurner, attaining an honours degree in material science years later


Sophie Parker

Staff Governor

Sophie is proud to teach English to the children of Maryport at Netherhall School

Fiona Woodward.jpg

Fiona Woodward

 Parent Governor

Fiona moved to Cumbria 19 years ago from Lancashire to marry her firefighter husband.

William Pattinson.jpg

William Pattinson

Co-opted Governor

William was born and raised in Crosby and educated at Netherhall School.


Kerry Charters

Co-opted Vice Chair of Governors

Previously a Parent Governor at Ewanrigg Junior School for four years.


Barbara Irving

Co-opted Governor

Barbara has lived in Maryport for 30 years and is employed by Netherhall School for the past 14 years.


Norman Blackburn

Parent Governor

He attended Netherhall School and has lived and worked within the Maryport area ever since.


Steven Newton

Parent Governor

Steve has worked in the public transport industry since 2011.


Please click the links to download the govenors statutory information